Homepage

“Everyone has a name”

Over 180,000 Jewish men and women were killed in the Sobibór extermination site between 1942 and 1943. Their relatives, friends and communities that they belonged to, have so far founded 300 stones in memory of individual victims. With each commemorative stone, an individual family, a child, a man or a woman emerges from the unbelievable number of victims.

Dieses Bild hat ein leeres Alt-Attribut. Der Dateiname ist DSCF21221-1280x856.jpg


The Bildungswerk Stanislaw Hantz e.V. association wants to document all names from the commemorative stones in Sobibór on this website. This way, a total of 700 people will be given back their names and biography.

The documentation of the names from the stones is intended to commemorate the murdered. But it should also remind people about what hatred and exclusion can lead to. It should serve as awareness and call for tolerance, openness and solidarity, as important values for a free and peaceful coexistence.

„Jeder Mensch hat einen Namen“

Mehr als 180.000 v.a. Jüdinnen und Juden wurden in der Mordstätte Sobibor in den Jahren 1942 bis 1943 getötet. Angehörige, Freundinnen und Freunde und Gemeinden erinnern bisher mit 300 Gedenksteinen an einzelne Opfer. Mit jedem Gedenkstein wird aus der unfassbaren Opferzahl eine einzelne Familie, ein Kind, ein Mann oder eine Frau.

Das Bildungswerk Stanislaw Hantz e.V. will auf dieser Webseite alle Namen der bisher niedergelegten Gedenksteine in Sobibor dokumentieren. An insgesamt 700 Menschen werden damit ihre Namen und ihre Biografien zurückgegeben.

Die Dokumentation der Namen auf den Gedenksteinen soll an die Ermordeten erinnern. Sie soll aber auch erinnern, wozu Hass und Ausgrenzung führen können. Und mahnend zu Toleranz, Offenheit und Solidarität als wichtige Werte für ein freies und friedvolles gesellschaftliches Zusammenleben auffordern.